lottie-goes-to-africa.reismee.nl

Eye opener

Karibu sana,

I think it's about time I write again don't you? Over the past few weeks there were lots of things happening here in Arusha.

For starters I'm thrilled to tell you guys that I started up a micro-buisiness project at pippi's house. Two weeks ago we officially baptised our very own brand, pippi's house handmade bags and jewellery. We helped the girls out with making their own fancy,handy,easy holding, handbags, backpacks, wallets, clutches, necklaces, bracelets,... pictures will follow up soon! Offcourse it was a little bit challenging for me cause after all I am used to work with people not numbers... starting up a business was not something I knew how to do. Then again everything is possible if you are willing so here we are. Next step is going to the local markets to sell the products. Long term goal? Grow big enough to create job opportunities for young woman, sell the products to bigger corporations and once and for all, being able to keep pippi's house foundation alive without having to depend on the donations from others. Learn the girls how it feels to earn money out of something they've worked For!

Offcourse my main goal here in Africa is my volunteering job, which I have been working really hard for. But how goes the phrase again? Work hard, play hard? So when having free time, I'm trying to get the most out of it.

For example, I went on a horse safari 1,5 week ago. Great experience followed by massive Buttpains! Cause we were on a horse, we were able to get real close to the animals, such as zebras, impala's, gnoes,...

Offcourse comparing to the 4 day safari I did this weekend, it was hardly something.

We left on Friday morning and went to Taranguire, Serengeti and Ngorongoro. For the first time in a long time I had the feeling I felt complete. The things you get to see are indescribably. You see the animals from so close by, the nature, the wildlife... there really are no words for describing to you how beautiful those 4 days have been. Also we are a few of the lucky ones who got to see the big 5! Also something that not happens on a regular basis occurring the guide.

Another thing that happened is that I decided to change my flight and leave for Zanzibar a little bit sooner so that I can go backpacking a little longer on that wonderful island.

About a week ago, I had a few days where I wasn't feeling that good, the start up with the business wasn't going the way I wanted, and some other things happening made me feel a bit down. Luckily I can call myself a very rich person. Rich as in having so many people back home worth missing. Friends and family who pulled me through, and made me laugh even when we are 10.000 km apart. THAT to me is what keeps me going and motivated to give the girls here at my project in Arusha the help they need, so that one day they will also feel rich. Maybe not rich with family since most of them don't have one anymore, but rich with friends, with being independent grown woman. Rich enough to believe that whatever happens, there is always something good comming for them. At least this is what I will be fighting for, for them. Starting tonight, as I will be going out on the streets with the founder of pippi's house, looking for girls who live on the street and need our help. It's gonna be rough I can imagine, but I wouldn't want to do anything else. I'll let you know how it went!

Xoxo,


Lottie


Reacties

Reacties

Jana

Hoe mooi gezegd schatteke! Rich in friends and family. En dat is ook alles wat een mens nodig heeft! We zijn zo fier op u! Go go go!

mama

ik heb je gisteren gezien en gehoord en je ziet er zoooooo goed en ontspannen uit dat ik mij hoe langer hoe minder zorgen maak . keep up the good work ! ....... wel terug komen hè ? dikke knuffel van uw fiere mama.

Dorien

Oh amaii doet goed om te lezen dat je het daar zo naar u zin hebt en zo geweldige dingen aan het zien en meemaken bent! Laat die foto's en verhalen maar komen als je terug bent <3

Mimi

Zo te lezen heb je een fantastische safari meegemaakt ! Tof hé, al die dieren in het wild te zien .....
Geniet nog van je verblijf .... en tot het volgende verhaal, dikke zoen van ons allebei ????

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!