lottie-goes-to-africa.reismee.nl

Pole Pole

Hello again!

I would really like to start by saying a big fat THANK YOU to some of the people who read my previous blog and contacted me to help the girls out! Also I'm happy to announce that with help from my beautiful mother and helping stepfather back in Belgium, i was able to open a bank account in Pippi's House Foundation's name! At the end of this blog you can find all the contacts in case some of you still decide to help me and the girls out a little bit. Big thanks will come your way!

Also I'm so happy to tell you guys that there are some exciting things about to happen here at Pippi's House! Last week i had a great meeting with my coordinator and director and we came up with a few very challenging things. Offcourse I can't tell you anything yet, because for now we're still in the starting blocks, but i promise i'll keep you all updated! And for those of you who can't wait and like to be teased ? Just look out for a little sneekpeak on my facebook account over the next couple of days!

So you saw the tittle of my blog and probably are wondering what '' Pole Pole '' means right? Let me explain. If there is one slogan that would discribe Africa best, it's pole pole. Why, you may ask? Pole pole means '' take it easy' in swahili. Trust me, that's an understatement here. Everyone is moving so incredibly slow that it frustrates me sometimes. We even asked what the swahili word is for -as we say 'chopchop'- and their response was gold : ' We don't have a word for it cause we never do it'. You feel me right? :D You know back at home when i'm walking around with my friends, they all say that i always walk so fast :D as if i'm in some kind of hurry or something. Offcourse that's not the case but it's just the way i like my days you know? Make pace and do something meaningfull with your day. Then i arrived here and really sometimes i have the feeling that when i leave somewhere at the same time as the locals i can easily first take a 10minute powernap and still be first at the destination ;D. It's the same if you want to get things done here you know? I'm so full of ideas because this place is so inspiring but the elaboration takes soooo long here...

As frustrated as it was at first, i decided to just go with the flow a little bit. I adjusted not only my pace but my attitude as well. Not an easy thing for me to do AT ALL, which i think some of you who really know me, can confirm :D but hey, i'm in Africa and at least i'm trying right? :D Now just let's see what it will get me!

Over the weekend we went with 15 people to visit lake Chala. There was a camping place where we could stay overnight. Lake Chala lays really close to the border with Kenia. Some of us even tried to swim from one side of the lake to the other to cross that border. Mission failed. So the lake used to be a crater which made that is was now surrounded by highlands. It really felt so unreal when we were there. Besides our group there was no one else which made it even more magical. The water was so clear blue, not cold at all. We rented some canoes, in the evening we arranged ourselfs a barbecue and a pretty awesome bonfire. At one point really it felt like everything i ever wanted. I was finally in Africa, meeting so many new en different people, exploring a whole other side of myself as well. Even though i'm only here for 3 weeks so far, i'm so looking forward to everything else yet to come.

And for all of you? Offcourse, I will keep u posted.

Hakuna Matata

Lottie

Banc Account for donating to Pippi's House Foundation: BE95 9731 7222 5958

Reference: NAME-SURNAME + EMAILADRESS+ DONATION PIPPI'S HOUSE FOUNDATION

=> This way i will be able to send you a receipt of your donation, as will i be able to send you an e-mail to update you on how we used your donation to help the girls and to help Pippi's House Foundation to live, grow and change lives.

PS: If you click on 'Photo's' you can see some pictures of the old masaii market i went to 2 weeks ago, and soon i will also update some pictures of lake Chala as well!










Reacties

Reacties

Jana

Haha chopchop :-D. Goed dat ge u probeert aan te passen honey. Das niet simpel! Dus als ge terug zijt, kunnen we u nóg later verwachten dan anders :P hihi. Geniet er maar van! Wij wachten vol ongeduld op uw verhalen xxx

Vriendschap

Sterk bezig vriend! Keep up the good work! ????????

Schwessie

Uw blog is geweldig zus! :) Jij doet het daar fantastisch! Doe zo verder! Ik ben zo trots op u! <3 xxx

mama

dag lieverd !
echt heel leuke berichtgeving ! en zo gedreven ? nu nog foto's sturen hè ?
We willen ook wat zien hoor! XXXXX

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!